The 2020 parliamentary elections results have been gazetted by the Electoral Commission (EC).

The exercise is in accordance with the law which requires the EC to gazette the presidential and parliamentary results of every election.

The declaration of the 2020 presidential election, which was earlier gazetted on December 10, 2020 is a constitutional instrument (CI 135) signed by Jean Mensa.

It reads: “In exercise of the power conferred on the Electoral Commission under Article 63 (9) of the 1992 Constitution, this instrument is hereby made.

“Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) Presidential Candidate, having, in the Presidential Election held on the 7th of December, 2020, pursuant to Article 63 (3) of the Constitution, obtained more than fifty per cent of the total number of valid votes cast, is hereby declared the President-Elect of the Republic of Ghana.”

The gazetting of both the presidential and parliamentary results paves the way for any of the aggrieved candidates in the 2020 presidential election to file a presidential election petition at the Supreme Court to challenge the declaration by the EC.

NewsWire GH

Stonebwoy, Wendy Shay Top Boomplay’s 2020 Most Streamed Artistes List

Previous article

NPP to dismiss MMDCEs who contributed to defeat of parliamentary candidates

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.