The flagbearers of at least three political parties who contested the December 7 presidential polls have reportedly called an congratulate and concede defeat to President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo. 

The three were flagbearer of Ghana Union Movement (GUM), Rev. Christian Kwabena Andrews, aka Osofo Kyiri Abosom; Flagbearer of Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP), Henry Herbert Lartey and the candidate for Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG), Kofi Akpaloo.

The Communications Director at the Presidency, Eugene Arhin disclosed this in separate Facebook posts.

“The Presidential candidate of the GCPP, Dr. Henry Herbert Lartey, has just called President Akufo-Addo to concede defeat and congratulate him on his victory in the presidential election,” he wrote.

Meanwhile, the Electoral Commission (EC) is yet to announce the winner of the presidential election.

EC Chair Jean Mensah earlier announced that so far they have received results from 14 out of the 16 regions so they are waiting for two more.

Meanwhile, out of the 14, they have certified and published seven with the approval of all political party agents.

The EC is expected to announce the result later today, but the Multimedia Group has already project President Akufo-Addo to win a second term.

But some NDC supporters have stormed the EC’s headquarters in Accra and others have also taken to the streets in parts of the country, insisting that John Mahama won the election.

NewsWire GH

NDC youth storm EC headquarters insisting Mahama won

Previous article

Nana Addo wins second term with 51.59%

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.